top of page

One Word Project-Chelsea's Story

Resilience.

It’s been my biggest asset and the reason I am where I am today.

We all have our horror stories from the darkest corridors of our lives, and we all find ways to cope in those moments of terror.

For me, growing up in a house without my biological father with a young mom who suffered from some pretty severe mental health issues, I found myself often feeling anxiety ridden, unworthy and unloved.

Now, we all make choices in this life. And while my parents’ choices weren’t the greatest, I’m not here to say I’ve had a horrible life. That’s not true at all. The most beautiful twists and turns have happened that have landed me here today.

But being on this path of light and truth hasn’t been easy. You see, we absorb the energy around us. It may not seem tangible, but it’s real. And when your entire childhood is spend with pretty awful things happening around you that you cannot control AND the adults around you are not really behaving as such, it’s hard to find the lines of what’s “right” and what’s “wrong”. And in my older sibling, I see the effects of NOT being capable of being resilient to your surroundings. So, for that I give even more thanks for the fact that I was the “resilient child”.

Resilient child. That term first came to me when I was getting my psychology degree at SEMO. I went into the field BECAUSE of my home life traumas and the want to BREAK THE CYCLE. And when I learned about the psyche of the resilient child, I teared up, because it helped me understand why my life looks different than anyone else’s in my family’s. Like, drastically different.

And none of this is to say that I’m above where I came from. Not at all. This is all just to say that we DO have choices. Don’t sit back and let your identity be assigned to you. You are in the driver’s seat. Your ancestry and family’s past karmas DO NOT define you. Don’t forget that.

I’m thankful for my path and the chance to share my story.

I’m thankful for my resilience.

Chelsea


bottom of page